Relevant Discord, Joe Haze, Traverse, Today We Remember, Discord, Rediscovery, modern rock, Sylvia Massy, Studio Divine


Relevant Discord is the unnerving sound of a question. The sonic echo stirring within, yearning for substance, Relevant Discord music is a fierce resonance pushing back against normalcy and conditioning. Deeply pensive and evocative, the band’s alt-grunge/industrial fusion challenges listeners to embrace the dark night of soul and settle for nothing less than authenticity. With songs chasing wayward hope through landscapes of beauty, loss, and grief, a listening experience with Relevant Discord can quickly become the embarking point for a journey into the maelstrom of self-discovery. 

Founded and fronted by Nick Depew, Relevant Discord music has drawn hybrid of style comparisons to artists such as: Nine Inch Nails, The Smashing Pumpkins, A Perfect Circle, Apocalyptica, Incubus, Breaking Benjamin, and more. Having worked with producers Sylvia Massy (Tool, System of a Down, Red Hot Chili Peppers), Rich Veltrop (Rage Against the Machine), Joe Haze (Sublime, Chuck Mosley, Chris Vrenna), Sean Beavan (Nine Inch Nails, Guns N’ Roses), and Stephen Pettyjohn (Pettyjohn Electronics), Relevant Discord has released a number of stirring music videos and a remix series redesigned with Haze, in addition to initial rock-based interpretations of its songs. These remix titles contain the suffixes “Reconstructed” and “Through the Haze Remix.” 

Relevant Discord hit 2012 music newswires for running a mock presidential campaign geared toward protest voters of binary politics and for being an early adopter of virtual performance technologies. Relevant Discord songs have appeared on over 100 terrestrial and online radio outlets internationally and been featured on Canadian television. The band released an authorized, derivative cover of Alanis Morissette's “Uninvited” in 2023. Co-created with Haze, the song also features additional guitar work by Sean Beavan. A music video for the cover, featuring eclipse footage, released on April 8, 2024 in conjunction with a North American total solar eclipse that same day.